Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Locating and Using Articles: Databases by Subject Areas

Locating the Best Database for My Research Topic

 

Knowing the subject areas covered by each database makes your research more effective and efficient. Search All Resources searches all print books in the Denver Campus and DC Campus Libraries. It also searches articles in the DTL, and EBSCO.

However some subjects are best searched in individual databases. The databases below are organized by topic. They are listed by priority not alphabetically.

Databases for Apologetics and Ethics

Apologetics and Ethics

PhilPapers (Philosophical Research Online) in the DTL is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. It includes real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, and discussion forums.

ProQuest Philosophy Collection in the DTL includes Philosopher's Index, and full text of more than 160 scholarly journals.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus in EBSCO includes Atla's largest collection of full-text religion and theology journals, along with an index to book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and social issues.

ProQuest One in the DTL includes ProQuest Religion. This includes full-text and some abstracts on global religious and spiritual studies.

Databases for Biblical Studies

Biblical Studies

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus in EBSCO includes Atla's largest collection of full-text religion and theology journals, along with an index to book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Includes Scripture Search by book, chapter, and verse.

Old Testament Abstracts in EBSCO includes indexes and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multiauthor works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

New Testament Abstracts in EBSCO contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts on the New Testament and it historical setting.

Biblical Studies LibGuide in the DTL includes databases, academic journals, and reference works.

Databases for Counseling and Psychology

Counseling and Psychology

PsycARTICLES in ProQuest in the DTL has full-text articles published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber (1894-current).

PsycINFO PlusText in ProQuest in the DTL indexes APA peer reviewed journals, articles, books, and dissertations. It includes some links to full text.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection in EBSCO has full text articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Social Sciences Full Text (W. H. Wilson) in EBSCO covers the latest concepts, theories, and methods from applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Academic Search Premiere in EBSCO includes full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, humanities, psychology, counseling, religion, and theology.

Academic OneFile in the DTL includes over 42 million scholarly articles, search the psychology link.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus in EBSCO includes Atla's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals including Christian counseling, counseling and theology.

Project MUSE Philosophy and Religion in the DTL provides full text access to recently published and older scholarly books and journals from the most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. It covers a variety of subject areas including psychology.

Psychology LibGuide in the DTL Includes some full text online journals, along with some reference eBooks.

Databases for Leadership

Leadership

Business Source Premier in EBSCO covers business and management topics, including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and operations management. It includes articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. The full text of many titles is available, but for some titles, the database includes indexing and abstracts only. The database also includes company profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Academic Search Premiere in EBSCO includes full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals in business, health and medicine, history, language and literature, reference, social sciences, area and cultural studies, political science, psychology, and more.

Databases for Religion and Church History

Religion and Church History

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus in EBSCO includes Atla's largest collection of full-text religion and theology journals, along with an index to book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. 

Project MUSE Philosophy and Religion in the DTL provides full-text access to recently published and older scholarly books and journals from the most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. It covers a variety of subject areas including religion and theology. 

JSTOR Religion & Theology in the DTL includes religion journals with long back runs, with four journals in publication for over a century, such as The Jewish Quarterly Review, established in 1889, and the Journal of Biblical Literature, published since 1881. Journals in this discipline feature diverse scholarship on the history and philosophy of religious thought in all traditions and periods. Other key titles include the Journal of the American Academy of ReligionThe Harvard Theological Review, and The Journal of Religion.

Academic Search Premiere in EBSCO includes full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, humanities, psychology, religion, and theology.

ProQuest One in the DTL includes ProQuest Religion. This includes full-text and some abstracts on global religious and spiritual studies.

Databases for Theology

Theology

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus in EBSCO includes Atla's largest collection of full-text religion and theology journals, along with an index to book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. 

Project MUSE Philosophy and Religion in the DTL provides full-text access to recently published and older scholarly books and journals from the most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. It covers a variety of subject areas including religion and theology. 

JSTOR Religion & Theology in the DTL includes religion journals with long back runs, with four journals in publication for over a century, such as The Jewish Quarterly Review, established in 1889, and the Journal of Biblical Literature, published since 1881. Journals in this discipline feature diverse scholarship on the history and philosophy of religious thought in all traditions and periods. Other key titles include the Journal of the American Academy of ReligionThe Harvard Theological Review, and The Journal of Religion.

Academic Search Premiere in EBSCO includes full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, humanities, psychology, religion, and theology.