Skip to Main Content

Doctor of Ministry Research: General Reference Resources

Databases organized by the sections in the Literature Review for Doctor of Ministry Theses

Ready Reference General

General Reference Resources

General Reference

Association of Religion Data Archives

Includes Community Profile Builder and Guides, Religious Group Profiles, Congregation Profiles, Family Trees and History Timelines for major religious families in the United States, and National Profiles for more than 250 nations of the world.

Bartlett's Familiar Quotes

A collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature

Biography.com

True stories about people that matter

Center for Global Christianity

Facts and statistics from Gordon Conwell Seminary's research on global Christianity, missions, women in world Christianity, and global Pentecostalism 

Dissertation and Thesis websites document

Links to 30+ sites

EBSCO Open Dissertations

Over 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world

General Reference

Google Books

Index of full-text books

Google Scholar

Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources

Infoplease

Part of Pearson Education combining the contents of Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, Random House Unabridged Dictionary, an atlas, and several almanacs

Internet Archive

Free access to millions of out-of-copyright books

Internet Scout

Research group from the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Computer Science Department focused on developing better tools and services for finding, filtering, and presenting online information and metadata

Information Literacy

From the Digital Theological Library

General Reference

National Center for Education Statistics

Includes many federal government and statistical agencies reports

Pew Research Center

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab

Free resources in writing and research, including style guides

Status of Global Christianity - Annual Statistics

From Gordon Conwell's Center for Global Christianity

Turabian - Quick Guide

Denver Seminary uses full note style

United States Census Bureau

The nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy as of April 1, 2020