Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the Online Catalog: Searching for Articles

Using the online catalog - Search All Resources

Articles in Search All Resources

Focusing Search Results

Important search terms help focus your search results.

Basic Search can include a word, or a phrase enclosed in quotation marks. It searches keywords. If you use a phrase without quotation marks the results will include any of the words.

Advanced Search can include words or phrases combined with AND, OR, or NOT.

Keyword returns results of those words in the author's name, the title, or the descriptors of the article or book.

Subject returns results of the word or phrase as the main topic of the book or article.

Journal Source is the title of a journal.

Full Text is important if you need immediate access to the article. If you can wait a day or a few days for access, you can request an ILL for an article that is not available in full text.

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed indicates the article has been reviewed by people who are considered experts in the subject. Denver Seminary research papers require scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.

Publication Year is important when you need the most recent scholarship. Sometimes you need to trace the scholarship on a topic over a number of years.

When you receive too many results use the Subject limit in the left column to identify the most relevant resources. This is not available after you limit to articles.

When you do not receive enough results you can search for variations of a word by using type the first three or more letters of a word followed by an asterisk (*). That returns all words that begin with those letters.

How do you know if a book is scholarly? Look at the publisher, look at the credentials of the author, look at reviews of the book in scholarly journals, and look at the citations and bibliography.

Search All Resources will include many articles in EBSCO and the DTL. However, some journals are not indexed at the article level in this search. For the most comprehensive results see Locating and Using Articles.
 

Use the Advanced Search to enter search terms.
 

Refine your search with the limits on the left side of the page.

  • Full Text if you want to use it immediately.
  • Peer Reviewedsometimes called scholarly.
  • Publication Year when you need the most recent scholarship.

Scan the article Summary to determine if it is a good match.
 

If your results are insufficient, try using a truncated version of the word followed by an asterisk (*). It includes results with all possible endings of the word. You can also expand your search to Libraries Worldwide.
 

When you locate articles you would like to use, you can Cite, Share, Save if you are logged in, or View full text
 

Denver Seminary uses APA 7th edition and Turabian (notes - bibliography) 9th edition.
 

Choose Share and Copy Link to save the article link. Add it to the end of your citation so readers can verify your source.
 

When you do not choose Full Text and you find an article you need, click Request this item through interlibrary loan. It will open the ILL form which you can complete and submit. Further information is on the ILL Research Guide.