Items marked with an asterisk [*] are top priority for acquisition and/or use. Others would be good to have if and when finances allow and well worth consulting even now. (All are selected as excellent out of a much larger list that could have been compiled.) Selections are consciously weighted in favor of evangelical scholarship, but excellent works from other perspectives are included.
*A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature
by
*Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament : based on semantic domains
by
*New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis Set
by
Helpful Titles
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament
by
The Concise New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis
by
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology
by
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
by
A Greek-English Lexicon
by
Complete Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words
by
*The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
by
*New Testament in Antiquity
by
*The World of the New Testament : Cultural, Social, and Historical Contexts
by
*The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament
by
*Jesus and the Victory of God
by
*Behind the scenes of the New Testament : cultural, social, and historical contexts
by
Helpful Titles
Women in the world of the earliest Christians : illuminating ancient ways of life
by
The Origins of Christianity and the New Testament
by
A Handbook on the Jewish Roots of the Christian Faith
by
Backgrounds of Early Christianity
by
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volumes I and II
by
New Testament history : a narrative account
by
A History of the Jews and Judaism in the Second Temple Period (vol. 1)
by
A History of the Jews and Judaism in the Second Temple Period, Volume 2
by
A History of the Jews and Judaism in the Second Temple Period, Volume 3
by
A History of the Jews and Judaism in the Second Temple Period, Volume 4
by
*Introducing the Apocrypha : message, context, and significance
by
*Ancient texts for New Testament studies : a guide to the background literature
by
*Introducing the Pseudepigrapha of Second Temple Judaism : message, context, and significance
by
*Invitation to the Septuagint
by
Helpful Titles
Ancient Apocryphal Gospels
by
Early New Testament Apocrypha
by
Exploring Jewish literature of the Second Temple period : a guide for New Testament students
by
The apostolic fathers : Greek texts and English translations
by
Josephus and the New Testament
by
Discovering Second Temple literature : the scriptures and stories that shaped early Judaism
by
Dead Sea Scrolls Today
by
Copyright © January 2022 prepared by Craig L. Blomberg, Joseph R. Dodson, and David L. Mathewson of the New Testament Department of Denver Seminary.
