This bibliography is provided by Dr. Michell Temple for students in CO 504 Psychopathology and Diagnosis
Handbook of Culture and Mental Illness by 
Psychiatric emergencies: How to accurately assess and manage the patient in crisis. by 
Rethinking the DSM by
Rethinking the DSM reflects the dissatisfaction of a growing number of mental-health professionals who question the DSM's lack of strong empirical foundations and who are confounded by its patchwork of vaguely defined disorders. Here, readers will find thought-provoking essays on alternative systems, including psychodynamic, narrative, and cognitive-biological. Rethinking the DSM will challenge readers to move away from conventional thinking and engage in continued dialogue and discussion about specific modifications and alternatives to the DSM.
Casebook in Abnormal Psychology 4th ed. by
See disorders in real life with CASEBOOK IN ABNORMAL PSYCHOLOGY! Using authentic cases illustrating every major DSM-IV category, this psychology text portrays the nature of disorders manifested in real people. Each case is followed by a therapy outcome section telling you the rest of the client's treatment story. Three complex cases are included without a diagnosis, so you can develop your own.
Christian Counseling: A Comprehensive Guide by 
DSM-IV-TR in Action by
Thoroughly updated and revised?the bestselling resource for the practical application of the DSM-IV-TR for clinical assessment, diagnosis, and treatment Now with the most current treatments and evidence-based practices, DSM-IV-TR in Action brings the DSM-IV-TR to life with clear instruction on using it to formulate and complete an assessment, accurately diagnose clients, and prepare a comprehensive and effective treatment plan. Complete with new chapters on delirium, dementia, amnestic, and other cognitive disorders as well as on selected sexual disorders, the Second Edition also adds new coverage of disruptive behavior disorders, eating disorders in children, substance disorders, psychotic disorders, unipolar and bipolar mood disorders, anxiety disorders, and personality disorders. New treatment plans have been added, and existing ones have been updated. This edition also discusses the expected changes to come in the highly anticipated DSM-5. Numerous case studies bring the material to life and demonstrate how the DSM-IV-TR is applied in practice. In addition, the information on maintaining clinical records and using time-limited therapy, as well as an appendix of sample treatment plans, make this a must-have guide for students and seasoned mental health professionals.
Counseling Treatment for Children and Adolescents with DSM-IV-TR Disorders by
Designed to give counseling students a better understanding of children and adolescents who have been diagnosed with an emotional, behavioral, or mental disorder, this book provides a thorough discussion of the most-commonly diagnosed disorders of children and adolescents, and examines the biological, developmental, and environmental causes of these disorders. Disorders are approached from the perspective of the child/adolescent and examined in context, and each discussion includes practical guidance for assessment and treatment based on the most recent research in the field. To the expertise of the main author are added contributions by several counselor educators, psychologists, and clinicians who directly practice, teach, and focus on key topics addressed in the text.
Genetics of Mental Disorders by
This book provides a comprehensive and readable primer on the complex interplay of genetic and environmental factors in mental disorders. Rendering technical concepts accessible, and laying to rest common myths and oversimplifications, the book describes what (and how) scientists have learned about the causation and expression of such frequently encountered disorders as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression, and Alzheimer disease. Clinicians and students gain the basic knowledge they need to evaluate the literature in this rapidly developing field, understand implications for treatment, and communicate genetic information to clients and families. Throughout, special attention is given to the critical ethical and professional concerns raised by emerging technologies.
Practitioner's Guide to Evidence-Based Psychotherapy by
This book is to help clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, psychiatrists and counselors achieve the maximum in service to their clients. Designed to bring ready answers from scientific data to real life practice, The guide is an accessible, authoritative reference for today's clinician. There are solid guidelines for what to rule out, what works, what doesn't work and what can be improved for a wide range of mental health problems. It is organized alphabetically for quick reference and distills vast amounts of proven knowledge and strategies into a user friendly, hands-on reference.
The Transdiagnostic Road Map to Case Formulation and Treatment Planning by
Transdiagnostic treatment is the future of psychology. Mounting evidence shows that moving beyond treatment protocols that focus on a singular diagnosis and toward transdiagnostic approaches that target psychological mechanisms can improve outcomes. If you are seeking to correctly identify mechanisms and use them to select interventions that best meet the needs of your clients this book offers a powerful and much needed guide. The Transdiagnostic Road Map to Case Formulation and Treatment Planning is the first book to provide an empirically-based method for identifying specific psychological mechanisms underlying clients' presenting problems and symptoms and linking them to clinical interventions that comprise individualized treatment plans. The transdiagnostic approach outlined in this book signals a revolutionary departure from traditional treatments relying on DSM categorization and gives mental health professionals an essential resource for treating a broad range of patient problems. It builds on existing case formulation approaches by bridging research on psychological mechanisms with a practical guide to assessment and treatment. If you are interested in a new approach to treating patients with symptoms that span different diagnostic categories or are struggling to keep up with the growing number of disorder-based protocols, this book is an extremely important addition to your professional library. It will serve as your compass for navigating both simple and complex cases to arrive at a more effective type of treatment planning--one that is tailored to your client's specific needs and targets the underlying mechanisms responsible for driving and maintaining their presenting problems and symptoms. For more than forty years, New Harbinger has published powerful, evidence-based psychology resources for mental health professionals and self-help books for clients. As the landscape of psychology evolves, New Harbinger will remain at the forefront, offering clinicians real tools for real change.
Treating Trauma in Christian Counseling by 
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Abnormal Psychology by
Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions. Taking Sides readers feature an annotated listing of selected World Wide Web sites. An online Instructor’s Resource Guide with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit www.mhhe.com/takingsides for more details.
Abnormal Psychology by
Presenting the Human Experience of Psychological Disorders. In Richard Halgin and Susan Krauss Whitbourne's Abnormal Psychology: Clinical Perspectives on Psychological Disorders, students are shown the human side of Abnormal Psychology. Through the widespread use of current and highly relevant clinical case studies, the biographies and first-person quotations in the Real Stories feature, and the unique case media program Faces Interactive Online, students are presented with real-life portrayals of the disorders featured in the text. The new sixth edition includes updated research coverage and increased pedagogy, designed to maximize student comprehension. The text maintains the integrative approach to treatment using the biopsychosocial model, the lifespan approach, and the succinct coverage that have been the foundations of the text's success.
A Casebook in Abnormal Psychology by
Offering state-of-the-art theoretical and empirical perspectives, A Casebook in Abnormal Psychology: From the Files of Experts features first-person accounts of compelling cases from leading experts in the field of psychopathology. These internationally respected authorities share stories fromtheir files, bringing to light the complexity of diagnosis and treatment of a person with a disorder in their area of expertise. These master clinicians reveal their inner monologues to readers, providing a first-hand look at the clinical processes of assessment, diagnosis, and treatment. Inaddition to relating fascinating stories about real people, each contributor offers a scholarly perspective on both the essential features of a disorder and the most current means of treating individuals with this disorder.Unique in its assembly of eminent contributors and written in a highly consistent and accessible style, A Casebook in Abnormal Psychology serves as an ideal supplementary text for courses in abnormal psychology. Professionals and general readers interested in psychology will find it a rich sourceof first-person case material, which elucidates the approaches of current leaders in the field.
Clinical Case Formulations by
Praise for Clinical Case Formulations Matching the Integrative Treatment Plan to the Client, Second Edition "[Barbara Ingram has put] a career into the development of this book and it is wonderful! My students love that it was written with them in mind and they love the statements designed to reduce anxiety and normalize the learning process. This is an excellent book!"--Amy M. Rees-Turyn, PhD Associate Professor of Counseling Psychology, Lewis & Clark College A step-by-step model for individualized case conceptualization Fully revised and updated, the second edition of Clinical Case Formulations provides step-by-step tools and insightful guidance for moving from first contact with a client to the development of an effective, personalized treatment plan. Addressing the essential question every therapist faces--How do I create a treatment plan that is the best match for my client?--this unique resource provides a systematic and thoughtful method for integrating ideas, skills, and techniques from different theoretical approaches. It combines empirical research and clinical experience to create a case formulation that is tailor-made for the client. This comprehensive resource offers two tools to guide case formulations: a problem-oriented framework, with a list of 28 standards for evaluating its application, and a set of 30 core clinical hypotheses derived from the knowledge bases of psychology, psychiatry, counseling, and social work professions. The new edition includes: Hypotheses on Emotional Focus, Trauma, and Metacognitive Perspective More detailed attention given to empirically supported therapies such as Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) Discussion on the importance of bringing cultural competence to case formulation tasks with every client Skill-building activities throughout the text Offering a thorough framework to help clients experience effective clinical service, practitioners will learn to conceptualize clients' needs in ways that lead to strong and individualized treatment plans, as well as advice and guidance on what to do when selected interventions fail to produce the expected benefits.
Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry by
Thoroughly updated for its Fifth Edition, Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry remains a staple for medical students on psychiatric rotations, psychiatric residents, practitioners, and mental health professionals. In an easy-to-scan outline format, this popular quick-reference handbook summarizes the etiology, epidemiology, clinical characteristics, diagnosis, and treatment of all psychiatric disorders in adults and children. Psychopharmacologic principles and prescribing methods are briefly described. The book is replete with DSM-IV-TR and other tables and includes boxed, highlighted Clinical Hints. Each chapter ends with specific page and chapter references to Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, Ninth Edition .
Synopsis of Psychiatry by
The best-selling general psychiatry text since 1972, Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry is now in its thoroughly updated Tenth Edition. This complete, concise overview of the entire field of psychiatry is a staple board review text for psychiatry residents and is popular with a broad range of students in medicine, clinical psychology, social work, nursing, and occupational therapy, as well as practitioners in all these areas. The book is DSM-IV-TR compatible and replete with case studies and tables, including ICD-10 diagnostic coding tables. You will also receive access to the complete, fully searchable online text, an online test bank of approximately 100 multiple-choice questions and full answers, and an online image bank.
Handbook of Relational Diagnosis and Dysfunctional Family Patterns by
Couples and family therapists have long known that intrapersonal difficulties are played out in, and exacerbated by, problems in interpersonal relationships. In this ground-breaking new book, leading couples and family clinicians and researchers present a clinically-based typology of relational disorders. Already hailed as one of the most important books of the decade, this timely volume examines the role of diagnosis in couples and family therapy, and offers clinical criteria for diagnosing a broad spectrum of relational disorders and dysfunctional relational patterns.
Abnormal Psychology and Life by
Chris Kearney and Tim Trull's ABNORMAL PSYCHOLOGY AND LIFE: A DIMENSIONAL APPROACH provides students with a concise, contemporary, science-based view of psychopathology that emphasizes the individual first and the disorder second. Through consistent pedagogy featuring clinical cases and real first-person narratives, the text illuminates our understanding that abnormal behavior--rather than being either present or absent--exists in everyone to some degree on a continuum from normal to pathological. By highlighting this widely accepted dimensional view--which places the behavior of an individual at the forefront of clinical assessment, prevention, definition, and treatment--the text's goal is to encourage students to become intelligent consumers of mental health information. With its emphasis on assessment and treatment as well as prevention, the book gives students the tools necessary to understand the precursors of abnormal behavior, overcome the stigma associated with it, and identify the real people classified as exhibiting it.
Handbook of Cultural Psychology by 
Child Psychopathology, Third Edition by
This highly respected reference and text on developmental psychopathology brings together leading authorities on the psychological, biological, and social-contextual determinants of child and adolescent problems. The comprehensive introductory chapter provides a state-of-the-art developmental--systems framework for understanding behavioral and emotional disturbances. Subsequent chapters synthesize the developmental bases of specific disorders. The characteristics, epidemiology, developmental course and outcomes, and etiological pathways of each disorder are described, as are risk and protective factors and issues in conceptualization and diagnosis. Important unanswered questions are identified and implications for treatment and prevention considered. New to This Edition *Includes DSM-5 criteria and discussion of changes. *Incorporates over a decade's worth of research advances in genetics, neurobiology, and other areas. *Chapters on bipolar disorder, suicide/self-injury, obsessive-compulsive spectrum disorders, and personality disorders.
Essential Psychopathology and It's Treatment by
This second edition explains DSM-IV, presenting its diagnostic categories and illuminating treatment of the full range of psychiatric disorders. It also has been updated to include chapters on childhood disorders and sleep disorders.
Psychoanalytic Diagnosis, Second Edition by
This acclaimed clinical guide and widely adopted text has filled a key need in the field since its original publication. Nancy McWilliams makes psychoanalytic personality theory and its implications for practice accessible to practitioners of all levels of experience. She explains major character types and demonstrates specific ways that understanding the patient's individual personality structure can influence the therapist's focus and style of intervention. Guidelines are provided for developing a systematic yet flexible diagnostic formulation and using it to inform treatment. Highly readable, the book features a wealth of illustrative clinical examples. New to This Edition *Reflects the ongoing development of the author's approach over nearly two decades. *Incorporates important advances in attachment theory, neuroscience, and the study of trauma. *Coverage of the contemporary relational movement in psychoanalysis. Winner--Canadian Psychological Association's Goethe Award for Psychoanalytic and Psychodynamic Scholarship
Straight Talk about Your Mental Health by
Too often, mental health care is postponed due to fears about what treatment might entail. Now Dr. James Morrison, a highly experienced practitioner with a no-nonsense approach, provides up-to-date facts and reliable advice about what might be wrong and what you can do about it. Explaining what really works for a wide range of psychological difficulties, Dr. Morrison gives frank and empathetic answers to all the common questions, plus many you may not even think of asking: *Why do I have these symptoms and when will they get better? *How safe are drugs like Prozac--and what about herbal remedies? *What will I have to go through to find out what's wrong? *How will I know if I've found a good therapist? *How can I get the best care when my insurance and finances are limited? *What can I expect in the months and years ahead? Whether you feel trapped by depression or driven by anxiety, whether you're worried about an aging parent's memory loss or a spouse's mood swings, Straight Talk gives you the knowledge you need now and anticipates what you'll need in the future. It helps you make well-informed choices about this critical aspect of health and well-being--for yourself and those you love.
A Guide to Treatments That Work by
This invaluable reference provides the results of a high-level task force created by the American Psychological Association -- the largest professional society for psychologists in the United States--for the purpose of assessing the efficacy of therapeutic interventions for each of the majorclinical disorders. The volume brings together all the outcome data and clinical trials, describing what works, what doesn't and what is not known. Among the disorders discussed are depression, anxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorders, substance abuse, and many more. As a reference work whichintegrates information from both clinical psychology and psychiatry, this work will serve as an indispensable desk reference for all practitioners.
Clinical Assessment Workbook by
This practical workbook facilitates readers� understanding of the DSM-5 and other texts related to the diagnoses of mental disorders, enhancing their ability to assess their clients� strengths and to diagnose any emotional difficulties the clients may be experiencing. As a workbook, it offers a wealth of real life examples and exercises, providing users with the opportunity to practice their assessment skills in a classroom environment prior to entering the field as a mental health professional. Readers learn the various diagnostic categories of the DSM-5-along with dual diagnoses, symptom formulation, and the overlap between diagnostic categories-as well as how to apply these categories to clients they will be seeing in practice.
The Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders by
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
DSM-IV Training Guide by
First published in 1995. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Acrostics for Psychiatric Diagnostics by 
Reel psychiatry: Movie portrayals of psychiatric conditions by 
What Works for Whom?, Second Edition by
This acclaimed work provides a systematic, comprehensive, and balanced evaluation of the current status of all major psychotherapeutic approaches. With a primary focus on adults, detailed evidence is presented for the efficacy of widely used interventions for frequently encountered mental disorders and specific populations. The book also explains the concepts that underpin psychotherapy research, examines methodological challenges in translating research into practice, and considers the impact on outcome of factors common to all therapies, such as therapist and patient characteristics.
Abnormal Psychology in Context by
No one knows Mountaineers football better than Don Nehlen, head coach of the Mountaineers from 1980 until 2001. Now fans of this dynamic collegiate powerhouse will relive the greatest moments in West Virginia football through the eyes of its most successful coach. When Coach Nehlen arrived in Morgantown in December 1979, he had a large task in front of him turn a losing team into a force to be reckoned with. In this book, he shares how he made it happen. Nehlen explains his theories about coaching, the staff that supported him, and the strategies that he employed to create a stronger team. He shares stories about some of his best players like Major Harris, Barrett Green, Rich Braham, and Marc Bulger. He gives the play-by-play for some of his biggest wins and most disappointing losses. Coach Nehlen guides you through the legendary undefeated seasons of 1988 and 1993. In addition, he shares his Hall of Fame experience with you, and muses about the future of college football. Without a doubt, this insider s look at West Virginia football is a must-have for any Mountaineers fan.
Neuroscience and the Fruit of the Spirit by
Our bodies are temples. God's love, joy, peace and all the fruits of the Spirit course through us. Yet many of us know very little about our bodies. Can you imagine not knowing how your bed, refrigerator or bathroom worked in your home? Learn about the neuroscience of your body; your home. Your life truly depends on it.
Essentials of Understanding Abnormal Behavior by
This brief text offers the same sociocultural focus, multicultural models, topical coverage, and engaging style of its parent text in a condensed, student-friendly format. The wealth of visuals, case studies, examples, and modular reviews combine with thorough research updates, making the text a comprehensive tool for abnormal psychology students.Several pedagogical aids help students grasp and retain material. Chapter outlines provide a topical overview while Focus Questions guide students to seek their own answers as they read the chapter. Case studies highlight issues of mental health and mental disorders, using actual clinical files to illuminate topics. In addition, Mental Health in Society boxes focus on mental health issues that carry wide implications for society to stimulate critical thinking, evoke alternative views, and provoke discussion to help students explore a broader meaning of abnormal behavior.
Culture and Psychopathology by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Behavioral Management Guides by
This manual is designed to help therapists write a comprehensive behavioral treatment plan for every adult client. The accompanying compact disk (CD) facilitates this effort by providing a template that requires only a few computer strokes to produce beau
Toward a Theology of Psychological Disorder by
How do Christians in the twenty-first century understand psychological disorders? What does Scripture have to teach us about these conditions? Marcia Webb examines attitudes about psychological disorder in the church today, and compares them to the scriptural testimony. She offers theological and psychological insights to help contemporary Christians integrate biblical perspectives with current scientific knowledge about mental illness.
Movies and Mental Illness by
Films are a powerful medium for teaching students of psychology, social work, medicine, nursing, counseling, and even literature or media studies about mental illness and psychopathology. An enjoyable and highly memorable supplementary teaching tool for abnormal psychology classes. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, who are themselves movie aficionados, this book is superb not just for psychology or media studies classes, but also for anyone interested in the portrayal of mental health issues in movies. Helpful to laypersons wanting to learn more about psychopathology, to college-level instructors organizing a course on abnormal psychology, and for elective offerings to medical students and-or psychiatric residents who might enjoy a less formal, somewhat relaxing and 'fun' way to engage topics in psychopathology.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders Across the Lifespan by
A versatile reference text for developing and applying clinical psychopathology skills Designed to serve as a trusted desktop reference on mental disorders seen across the lifespan for mental health professionals at all levels of experience, Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders Across the Lifespan, Second Edition expertly covers etiology, clinical presentation, intake and interviewing, diagnosis, and treatment of a wide range of DSM disorders at all developmental stages. Unlike other references, this book takes a lifespan approach that allows readers to develop the clinical skills necessary to respond to mental health concerns in a patient-centered manner. Introductory and advanced features support clinicians at every stage of their careers and help students develop their skills and understanding. Authors Woo and Keatinge combine a review of cutting edge and state-of-the-art findings on diagnosis and treatment with the tools for diagnosing and treating a wide range of mental disorders across the lifespan. . This second edition incorporates the following changes: Fully updated to reflect the DSM-5 Chapters have been reorganized to more closely follow the structure of the DSM-5 Cultural and diversity considerations have been expanded and integrated throughout the book A new integrative model for treatment planning Expanded discussion of rapport building skills and facilitating active engagement Identity issues and the fit between client and intervention model has been added to the case conceptualization model Mental health disorders affect patients of all ages, and the skilled clinician understands that there are no one-size-fits-all treatments. Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders Across the Lifespan, Second Edition will instruct clinicians and students in psychopathology for every life stage. Praise for the first edition: Reviews This handbook, Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders Across the Lifespan, comprehensively integrates best practices necessary for clinicians who deal with a wide range of mental disorders across the continuum of development in a practical, applied, and accessible manner. One of the unique aspects of the book is the length to which the authors go to ensure that the up-to-date information contained in the book is practical, user-friendly, and accessible to beginners in clinical practice
Skills for Effective Counseling: A Faith-based Integration by For Help with Electronic Resources
Email DigRef@denverseminary.edu / Call 303-762-6964 / Schedule a Research Appointment.