Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling and Psychology

Research Guide

The tabs on this page include step-by-step instructions for searching EBSCO databases and brief videos.

Tutorials

Access EBSCO databases through the Denver Seminary Library Homepage. 

Students log in with your student ID#@my.densem.edu. Faculty/staff log in with your Office 365 credentials, name@densem.edu. Select the database(s) you will search by clicking on the select button(s), and "Continue." 

 

On the search page enter your search terms. You may enter a term in more than one search box. You can also enter a phrase in a search box. If you want results with the words of the phrase in the exact order enclose the phrase in quotation mark.

The dropdown in the "Select a Field" frame gives options for defining your terms. TX All Text means the word is in the text, abstract, or title of the article. SU Subject means it is one of the main topics of the article. Limit to Full Text. Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. Your professors expect you to us peer reviewed journals. Limit to the past 5 or 10 years for the Published Date, depending on your research requirements. 

View your results. Click on the article title to open the abstract and article information. Click on the PDF Full Text or HTML to open the article. 

After opening the PDF Full Text you can

1. Create your personal EBSCO account and save it to a folder.

2.Download it to your device or print it.

3. Save it to Google Drive, print it, email it, save it to your personal folder, open citations for it, export it to Zotero or another citation software, or open and copy the permalink for the article.
CAUTION: The link in the URL field is not a permalink. To save a link, click on the permalink.

When you do not choose Full Text and you find an article you need for your research click Request this item through interlibrary loan. It will open the ILL form which you can complete and submit. Further information is on the ILL Research Guide.

Many EBSCO databases have a thesaurus or subject terms search available. Click Thesaurus or Subject Term in the top bar.

 

On the Thesaurus search page enter your search term(s).
  1. Select your search focus: Term Begins With, Term Contains, or Relevancy Ranked radio button.
  2. Mark the heading(s) you want to use.
  3. When using multiple headings choose AND, OR, or NOT to combine them.
  4. Click the SEARCH button to display the search results.
 
Search results
 
Click on a search term on the Thesaurus search page to open the hierarchy of the subject.
 
You can see broader, narrower, or related terms. The scope note defines the scope of the term's coverage. Clicking on a term in this view opens the article result list.

 
Use terms in the Browse results to access article results or Explode terms to create additional subject heading searches.